Pistachio Flat Bread

image

 

 

Sadly the ginger snap cookies caused some trouble with Eby, so almond flour is out for us.  That’s okay because I like pistachios better.

Mornings are my most productive times.  This morning I whipped up this pistachio flat bread that we all love, even my picky grandma!  It’s a great snack for days like today when I know we will be away from home.

3/4 c pistachios

1/3 c applesauce

1 tsp baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 egg

Take 3/4 cup pistachios (already soaked and dehydrated) and put them in a food processor ( or coffee grinder or “super” blender).  Blend until you get your desired texture.  I chose to only blend for a short time which resulted in a bread with a multigrain texture.  If you prefer a smoother, less textured bread, process till the nuts are close to a nut butter.

Pour processed pistachios into bowl and add 1/3 c applesauce.  I use homemade, and unsweetened.  Combine.

Add a pinch of salt.  (I prefer real salt or Himalayan pink salt for added minerals).

Add a tsp of baking soda, a tsp of apple cider vinegar, one egg and mix well.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  I put tallow on it as my nonstick oil of choice.

Pour batter onto greased parchment paper and even out with spoon.  I spread it into a circle or rectangle depending on my mood.

Put in oven at 350.  Bake till firm enough to flip without crumbling.

Variation on this: add a sweetener for a yummy sweet bread.  (This recipe is already mildly sweet, but if I’m craving more of a dessert like treat, I add rapadura when I mix the batter)

Leave a Reply

