GAPS diet: What is it and why I Am doing it?

Dr. Natasha Cambell McBride saw a connection between lack of beneficial gut flora and disease.  We live in a world where antibiotics are overprescribed and in our water, so many of us have poor guts.  We aren’t absorbing the nutrients from our food, and we have lots of food sensitivities.  The GAPS diet is designed to heal the gut and get it back to a healthy state.  Probiotics are one element of the healing protocol, while diet is another.

This week I am embarking on the GAPS intro diet in hopes that we can heal both my daughters and my food sensitivities.  This diet has been suggested to me for the last year, and I am finally at a point where I am ready to do it.  My daughter is fourteen months, so over a year and eating solids.  I still breastfeed, but in my research it says intro should be fine for those still breastfeeding as long as the child is over a year.  Eby will be eating the GAPS diet as well since she clearly has inherited my gut issues from birth (reflux and food sensitivities).

image

Tomorrow is the first day of GAPS intro.  First stage foods are lots of homemade broth, carrots, zucchini, onions, leeks, boiled meat, and herbal teas like ginger, peppermint and chamomile.  I will start the day with broth and tea, then have some carrot soup, boiled chicken, and more broth.  It will be hard for me to not have eggs and fresh juice in the morning.  I’m hoping to move through intro fairly quickly, since I already eat a diet close to full GAPS.

Thankfully, I have a new friend who will be embarking on this journey with me, so we will have each other to lean on for recipes and support.

Here is one of the recommended probiotics for GAPS followers:

http://amzn.to/1hUD4IL

(I am an amazon affiliate.  Every time you click one of my links and buy something, I get a percentage of the sale (4-7%).  I choose to only recommend products that I have chosen to personally use.)

Leave a Reply

