Day One of GAPS Intro Diet

Yesterday seemed easy at first.  I took my probiotics, drank a cup of homemade chicken broth, then had some carrot soup ( boiled carrots in chicken broth and puréed).  I went off to conquer the day, taking my daughter to Storytime.

Prior to Storytime, I prepared some meatballs (just ground beef) and threw them in the crock pot with some broth.  This allowed them to boil while we were at Storytime.  We enjoyed them for lunch after we came back.

image

For dinner I threw some of our leftover boiled chicken from the previous night into a crockpot with broth, cut up carrots, and some Sghetti squash.  I boiled the squash before putting it in the crock pot.  It was my version of chicken ‘noodle’.

I was thankful that dinner was in the crockpot, because the second half of the day  was harder then Id thought it be.  I juice everyday, so this lack of nourishment was hard for me.  A day without eggs was no big deal, as it was a nice break.  However, the lack of fruit made me lethargic.  I drank a cup of tea with honey every time I craved something, and it helped.  I made ginger tea by grating fresh ginger and pouring  hot water over it.  I let it steep for 3 minutes, then added honey.

This morning I woke with a light headache, a likely die off symptom.  I’m not feeling as excited about GAPS Intro…the limited foods are hard; but the healing will be worth it.  I did move into second stage today (adding egg yolk) because I read on the GAPS website that moms who are breastfeeding should start in stage two or three.  It really hasn’t change much besides the added nutrients of a raw egg yolk.  I’m keeping Eby in first stage because my husband accidentally gave her applesauce yesterday.

We are taking Epsom salt baths to promote the detoxing and increase our magnesium.

I’m resting more today, allowing my body’s energy to focus on the healing. I backed off the probiotics for today and will reintroduce a small amount tomorrow.  It’s important to start slow and not have too intense of die off (detox) symptoms, especially with breastfeeding.

 

 

Leave a Reply

