homemade gluten free play dough

IMG_20140302_133140

 

 

I looked for a long time to find a recipe to make gluten free play dough that didn’t contain corn or rice, and couldn’t find one.  My daughter is sensitive to both, so I set out to make my own!

I had sorghum, arrowroot and millet in the fridge.  After three batches, sorghum flour did the best.  I took Mommypotomus’ play dough recipe and modified it to use sorghum flour.

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup sorghum (sweet, white, bobs red mill)

1/2 cup salt

2 tsp cream of tartar

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 cup water

purple: 2 tsp red beet powder ( organic, non GMO)

Pink: 1/2 tsp red beet powder

Yellow: 3/4 tsp tumeric (mix the 1 cup water and heat before adding to dry goods)

Heat stove to medium.  Stir ingredients constantly until thickens and pulls away from pan.  Its still a bit tacky.  I then scoop it out onto parchment to cool a little.  I sprinkle 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup sorghum flour over it and knead it together.  Add more if still tacky after it cools.  You don’t want to add too much flour.

 

Leave a Reply

